About the Mirrabooka Electorate

The electorate of Mirrabooka is located in the East Metropolitan Region and includes all or parts of the Cities of Stirling, Swan and Wanneroo.

Comprising of all or parts of the localities of Alexander Heights, Balga, Ballajura, Dianella, Koondoola, Mirrabooka, and Westminster.

Number of Electors: 26,376 (9 March 2015)

Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission. State Electorate Information.

Nomenclature: Mirrabooka is an Aboriginal word for the Southern Cross constellation. The name was proposed by the state government in 1954 for a large tract of land to be developed for public housing. It was named the "Mirrabooka Project", but the area now known as Mirrabooka was only named as a suburb in 1980.

(Source: Western Australia. Department of Land Administration. Names and Places. )

Suburbs/Towns: Alexander Heights, Balga, Ballajura*, Dianella*, Koondoola, Mirrabooka, and Westminster.

* = Suburb/Town split between more than one District.

Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission. State Electorate Information




Alinjarra Primary School

Balga Primary School

Balga Senior High School

Boyare Primary School

Burbridge Primary School

Dryandra Primary School

Gladys Newton School

Illawarra Primary School

Koondoola Primary School

North Balga Primary School

Waddington Primary School

Warriapendi Primary School

Westminster Junior Primary School

Westminster Primary School



John Septimus Roe Anglican Community School - Mirrabooka

St Andrew's Grammar

Majella Catholic Primary School

Mercy College

St Gerard's Primary School


Local Newspapers:

Eastern Suburbs Reporter


Local Governments within District

Shire of Stirling (part)

City of Swan (part)

City of Wanneroo (part)